IT’S GO TIME!!

After many months of planning, researching, and even shipping a wooden bike from an entirely different continent: “Thru-Ride 4 Freedom ’13” has gone live!

I am currently on a train to San Diego, where I will grab a meal & a drink with Ryan Ross, a dear old friend of mine. After interviewing me for his ministry there, I’ll load the bike up with the luggage, check everything to see if she’s got all her nuts & bolts tightened, and dip the rear wheel into the Pacific Ocean, give Ryan a wave, and start pedaling east!

It’s been quite a journey to get this far, and I’m excited for what lies ahead. I’ve been fortunate to be able to share the story & the cause that I’m riding for through TV and newspaper coverage, and I’m looking forward to doing that more as I ride these next 5,000 miles.

The bike…what can I say about the bike? It’s amazing. Klaus Volkmann of ArtBikeBamboo (Brazil), you did it my friend. Klaus crafted a bike that’s not just functional & comfortable, but it’s beautiful and the best conversation starter ever. I can talk – if you know me, this is just common knowledge – and I can introduce a topic pretty well, but this bike starts a conversation like no other! And that is exactly what I was hoping for, because this rode isn’t just a casual, slowly meandering trip across the country. It’s a concerted effort to make as many miles as I can in a day, eschewing hotel rooms to save time & money, and inform as many people along the way about the issue of human trafficking as possible. This ride will test me physically, mentally, and emotionally. I want it to be a challenge, because the people I’m riding for are facing challenges every day. It’s only appropriate. It’s how it has to be.

So please, ride with me for the next 45-50 days. I’ll be posting stories from the road daily here, with photos & videos along the way as well. For even more photos, follow my Instagram account: FreedomPanda, and if you are a member of the Twitterverse, add me at: OasisProjekt.

Here we go…emphasis on the “we,” because I won’t be able to do this without your thoughts, prayers, and encouragement.

Human trafficking, get ready to get a collective fist of knuckles to the face. You chose this fight. You’re up.

Let’s do this.

2 Comments on “IT’S GO TIME!!

  1. Dug: YOU ROCK!!! Sorry to miss you in San Diego. Have a blast with Ryan. Routing & praying for you from south of the border. Love you!!! Colleen

Leave a Reply

