COUNTDOWN: 55 Days, and an ‘Honesty Post’

securedownload

596 days. That’s the number of days that have passed since I first decided I would ride across the country to bring awareness and raise funds for victims of human trafficking.

55 days. That’s the number of days remaining before I pedal the first foot of the journey. The time has flown by, and with as much work that has gone into the project, the fact remains that I don’t feel as prepared as I’d like to be. Part of the reason for that is that I have been working a lot more than I may normally have. I’ve been very thankful to have found a job that has been able to not only allow me the opportunity to afford this trip, but also an employer who has graciously allowed me the time off. In this economy, that’s a rarity, and one I am very grateful for.

Still, I have been working a minimum of 70 hours a week for the last 10 months, and it’s taking a toll on both my body, mind, and planning opportunities. My training has taken almost a complete backseat to work. 15 hours a day of work, 5 days a week, hasn’t left me with much time to train. Before I took my current position, I had been riding daily – I miss that! I’ve gained about 15-20 pounds, and I know I’ll have to work some of that off to get to a good starting weight for the trip.

My mind has been a battleground for doubt and stress as well. While I’m very focused on my mission, having my mind occupied by work has had a natural and expected shift in my mental preparation. I had ample time before my PCT hike in 2011 to compose my mental focus, and that carried me far up the trail. I feel the necessity to complete this ride with a greater acuity than I did for my PCT hike. I’m going to be leaning on my ability to focus and prepare mentally over the last 55 days and pray that when adversity hits on the road that I will be able to embrace the challenges and power through them.

While I’ve felt that my training and mental preparation are off from where I’d like them to be, I also have felt that my ability to create planning videos, update my blog, and plan for presentations on human trafficking along the way have also been far from what I would have liked them to be. But I have come to realize that no matter how I wanted the trip to be set up or look like, the end result will be worth every hour of preparation!

So as I type this on my day off, and prepare to get out on my bike for a training ride, I try to put aside all concerns, question marks, and doubts, and just rest in the knowledge that what I am doing is necessary and good. My conviction and passion to help those that have been victimized by human trafficking will ultimately fuel me those 5,000 miles to the other side of the country. Many people have commended me on my heart to help, while also questioned my method…isn’t there an easier way?

Sure. But what fun would that be? That is…if you consider riding 111 miles a day for 45 days ‘fun.’

55 days left.

I’m going to unashamedly ask that you donate to the cause. Team up with me on this journey. Your donation will go to an amazing cause, and to three amazing organizations that desperately need our help. These organizations are working diligently and tirelessly to make a difference in lives that have been shattered by the harsh and violent injustice of human trafficking. I wouldn’t be taking my time and my own personal funds to make this trip happen if I didn’t believe in what they were doing. Please join me and help. The ways to donate are simple: via PayPal (all you need is a credit card or PayPal account) or via snail mail to the P.O. Box listed below and on the ‘Donate’ page.

Blessings,

Dug

 

TO DONATE:

PayPal: oasisprojekt@gmail.com

P.O.Box: 

Leave a Reply

